• LiteraryJewelsBlogger

Congratulations 🎉


Congratulations to Judge Ketanji Brown Jackson on her confirmation to the U.S. Supreme Court! Judge Jackson -- who will be replacing Justice Stephen Breyer after his retirement at the end of the court's session this summer -- will be the first Black woman to serve on the nation's highest court by a vote of 53 to 47. Born in Washington, DC, the 51-year-old grew up in the Miami area and attended Harvard Law School where she graduated in 1996 with a Juris Doctor cum laude. Since 2013, she's served as a judge for the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia and, since last June, she's served on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit. Judge Jackson is also the mother of two daughters, Leila and Talia.


To introduce kids to more trailblazing women of the Supreme Court, we recommend the board book "I Look Up To... Ruth Bader Ginsburg" for ages 2 to 4 (https://www.amightygirl.com/i-look-up-to-ruth-bader-ginsburg) and the picture books "Ruth Bader Ginsburg: Little People, Big Dreams" for ages 5 to 8 (https://www.amightygirl.com/rbg-little-people) and "I Am Sonia Sotomayor" for ages 4 to 8 (https://www.amightygirl.com/i-am-sonia-sotomayor)


For young independent readers, we recommend the early chapter books "You Should Meet: Ruth Bader Ginsburg" for ages 6 to 8 (https://www.amightygirl.com/you-should-meet-rbg) and "She Persisted: Sonia Sotomayor" for ages 6 to 8 (https://www.amightygirl.com/she-persisted-sonia-sotomayor)


For older kids, check out the illustrated biographies "Who Was Ruth Bader Ginsburg?" for ages 8 to 12 (https://www.amightygirl.com/who-is-ruth-bader-ginsburg) and “Who is Sonia Sotomayor?" for ages 8 to 12 (https://www.amightygirl.com/who-is-sonia-sotomayor), the memoir "The Beloved World of Sotomayor" for ages 10 and up (https://www.amightygirl.com/the-beloved-world-of-sonia-sotomayor), and the biography "Dissenter on the Bench: Ruth Bader Ginsburg’s Life and Work" for ages 13 and up (https://www.amightygirl.com/dissenter-on-the-bench)


For adult readers who would like to read the inspiring stories of Supreme Court pioneers, we recommend the excellent biography "First: Sandra Day O'Connor" (https://www.amightygirl.com/first-sandra-day-o-connor), Justice Ginsburg's powerful memoir "My Own Words" (https://www.amightygirl.com/my-own-words-rbg), and Justice Sotomayor's memoir "My Beloved World" (https://www.amightygirl.com/my-beloved-world)


There is also a fascinating book for adults that explores the impact of the first two women on the Supreme Court, Sandra Day O'Connor and Ruth Bader Ginsburg: "Sisters in Law" at https://www.amightygirl.com/sisters-in-law

REPOSTED FROM A MIGHTY GIRL BLOG.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All